Chapter Four: The Final Product

real-finished-one

When choosing a college campus, why do people choose to go where they go? Is it the weather? Is it the athletic programs?

In some cases, yes, maybe but for some others, the selection process is more than that.

I chose to do my unit one project as a poster. My rough draft was more of a square and one of my critiques received was to try and change the layout. So, for this final draft, I changed the dimensions to make it look more like a poster. This would be put up in a building where people who were potentially going to be a student here at Washington State would see it.

The cub or the offices for advisers in all the different majors would be a perfect location.

There are many different elements to the poster.

The first element I want to point out is the number one. It may be obvious but it stands for being the first to go to college. It’s probably the most powerful thing on the poster. On this final draft, I changed the text of the one so that the hook wasn’t over powering the entire picture in the background. It’s supposed to catch your eye and start a conversation. The student asks something like, “Why does that poster have a huge one on it? What does it mean?” and that’s a perfect intro into talking about all the things WSU offers first generation students here on campus.

When you look closely, you’ll see the clock tower in the one. This is a unique and well known thing at WSU. I took this photo and the photo taking technique was very important because I planned to cut it out using pen tool. It couldn’t be too bright or too dark or else the cut would have looked weird. I chose to take it at night time so there wouldn’t be any light or dark spots from shadows.

To continue on though and speaking of what Washington State University is known for, it is imperative to point out the sunset in the background.  This is my third element. After all, in the very beginning of WSU’s time, the school colors were chosen as pink and blue because of the sunset. I don’t have a nice camera so I had to use my phone. That’s where the reading really helped. Holding the phone right and touching the screen to take the photo produced a better quality photo. I also used the framing technique to capture this great photo.

The last important element to point out is the text. One of the biggest critiques I received from my feed back was the location of my text. So, I moved it all around and made it look better in my final draft. “Be a Coug. Be the First.” Text is so important and I used four different elements to make sure that the text popped (bevel and emboss, stroke, outer glow, and a drop shadow.) To clarify what the purpose of the poster is, I included the text, “First Generation Students are Welcome Here.” This statement is inviting and even if a student were to see it while walking by, they would understand the meaning.

Now why am I explaining all of this to you?

The reason is, it’s a story. First generation students are writing their own stories and this poster is telling them they should write it here. It’s welcoming and warm and the colors are inviting. It’s saying, WSU has a story, we have a background and we want to be here to help you write yours.

Leave a Reply

